top of page

Programme Advisory Committee

The Programme Advisory Committee is made up of a selection of industry professionals, as well as the members from the GPA Reference Panel. The Reference Panel members provide expert knowledge and practical expertise on data protection, data privacy, and related topics and developments in information technology from around the world from relevant academic institutions, think tanks and civil society organisations (CSOs) with a keen interest in the vision and mission of the GPA. Thanks to the work of the Reference Panel, the GPA is better able to identify transdisciplinary policy solutions to data protection and privacy issues in a holistic, multi-agency approach.

Meet The Committee

Amber Sinha.jpg

Amber Sinha

Executive Director, Centre for Internet and Society, India.


Blair Stewart

Professional Teaching Fellow (Business School, University of Auckland). Co-author of LexisNexis Privacy Law and Practice (leading practitioner text on New Zealand’s privacy law). Former New Zealand Assistant Privacy Commissioner (1993- 2018) & GPA Secretariat (2013-2017).

Bojana Bellamy.png

Bojana Bellamy

President of the Centre for Information Policy Leadership (CIPL), a global privacy and data policy think tank based in London, Brussels, and Washington, D.C.

Caitlin Fennessy Headshot.jpg

Caitlin Fennessy

Vice President & Chief Knowledge Officer (IAPP). Former Privacy Shield Director (U.S. International Trade Administration). Former adjunct professor of international privacy law (University of Maine School of Law. University of New Hampshire School of Law).

Cécile de Terwangne.JPG

Cécile de Terwagne

Professor at the Faculty of Law (University of Namur, Belgium). Research Director at the Research Centre in Information, Law and Society (Namur Digital Institute). Expert to the Council of Europe (Convention 108) & the European Commission (adequacy studies & transborder data flows).

Clarisse Girot.jpg

Clarisse Girot

Senior Fellow at the Asian Business Law Institute (ABLI). Leader of ABLI’s Data Privacy Project on the convergence of laws and regulations on cross-border data flows in Asia.

Colin Bennett.jpg

Colin Bennett

Department of Political Science, University of Victoria. Author and researcher on global privacy protection.

Eduardo Bertoni.jpg

Eduardo Bertoni

Representative and Coordinator of the Inter-American Institute of Human Rights, South America Regional Office. Former Director of the AAIP Argentina (a GPA Executive Committee Member Authority).

Elizabeth Coombs.png

Elizabeth Coombs

Independent consultant for the United Nations Special Rapporteur on the Right to Privacy (‘Privacy and Children’ & ‘Privacy: A Gender Perspective’). Affiliated Associate Professor, University of Malta. Former Privacy Commissioner of New South Wales, Australia (2011–2017).

Liz Denham Photo.jpg

Elizabeth Denham CBE

Cybersecurity & Data Privacy Consultant for Baker & McKenzie LLP. Former UK Information Commissioner (2016-2021), building and leading the largest data protection regulator in the world. Former Global Privacy Assembly Chair (2018-2021).

Estelle Masse.jpg

Estelle Massé

Senior Policy analyst and Global Data Protection Lead at Access Now.

Franziska Boehm.jpg

Franziska Boehm

Law Professor at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and FIZ Karlsruhe — Leibniz Institute for Information Infrastructure, head of two research groups on Data Protection, IT and IP law.

Gabriela Zanfir Fortuna.jpg

Gabriela Zanfir-Fortuna

Director for Global Privacy at the Future of Privacy Forum.


Jules Polonetsky

CEO at Future of Privacy Forum (Washington, D.C.). FPF’s current projects focus on AI and Ethics, Connected Cars, Health, Research Data, Smart Communities, Ad Tech, Youth, Ed Tech, Privacy Legislation and Enforcement, and Global Data Flows.

Photo Jose Bermudez.png

José Alejandro Bermúdez

Partner at Bermudez & Esguerra Abogados (Colombia). LatAm Advisor at CIPL & Chair of the Latin American Privacy Association (ALAP). Former inaugural Data Protection Superintendent & member of the Colombian Data Protection Law & the Colombian OECD Accession Mission (privacy and digital economy) Governmental drafting commission.

Malcom Sep.jpg

Malcolm Crompton

Founder & Lead Privacy Advisor (Information Integrity Solutions Pty Ltd). Australia’s former Privacy Commissioner (1999 to 2004).  Fellow (Australian Institute of Company Directors) & IAPP Certified Information Privacy Professional.  Co-author of The New Governance of Data and Privacy: Moving from compliance to performance.

Marc Rotenberg.png

Marc Rotenberg

Director of the Center for AI and Digital Policy.

Martin Abrams IAF.jpg

Martin Abrams

Chief Policy Innovation Officer (Information Accountability Foundation). Former Global Accountability Project leader, co-founder and President of the Centre for Information Policy Leadership at Hunton & Andrews LLP.  

Masao Horibe.jpg

Masao Horibe

Professor Emeritus at Hitotsubashi University. Managing Director of the Japan DPO Association. Former Chairman of the Personal Information Protection Commission (PPC) Japan. Recipient of the Louis D. Brandeis Privacy Award in 2015.


Teki Akuetteh 

Founder and Executive Director of the Africa Digital Rights Hub LBG. Senior Partner at Nsiah Akuetteh & Co. Former Executive Director who set up the Data Protection Commission of Ghana and facilitated the implementation of Ghana’s Data Protection Act.


Valeria Milanes

Executive Director of Asociación por los Derechos Civiles (Association for Civil Rights – ADC) in Argentina & representative of Al Sur consortium (cross-border organisation).

bottom of page